Clay Mathematics Institute

Dedicated to increasing and disseminating mathematical knowledge

2020 Steele Prize

Friday, November 1, 2019

CMI President Martin Bridson, together with co-author André Haefliger, has won the 2020 Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition awarded by the American Mathematical Society for the book 'Metric Spaces of Non-positive Curvature', published by Springer-Verlag in 1999. 

In the words of the citation "Metric Spaces of Non-positive Curvature is the authoritative reference for a huge swath of modern geometric group theory. It realizes Mikhail Gromov's vision of group theory studied via geometry, has been the fundamental textbook for many graduate students learning the subject, and has paved the way for the developments of the subsequent decades."