Clay Mathematics Institute

Dedicated to increasing and disseminating mathematical knowledge

Poincaré Chair

Tuesday, March 4, 2014

Denis Auroux, Professor at the University of California, Berkeley, and Ivan Corwin, Clay Research Fellow and Associate Professor at Columbia University, have been appointed to the Poincaré Chair for the academic year 2014/15.  

The Clay Mathematics Institute and the Institut Henri Poincaré (IHP, Paris) established the Poincaré Chair for mathematicians in the early stages of their career. Those named to the chair hold their position at the Institut Henri Poincaré for a term of six months to one year. The Chair is financed for a period of five years with the Clay Millennium Prize funds for resolution of the Poincaré conjecture. The conjecture was solved in the affirmative by Grigoriy Perelman, for which he was awarded the Millennium Prize in 2010.  Dr. Perelman subsequently declined to accept the prize money. In establishing this chair with IHP, CMI aims to provide an exceptional opportunity for mathematicians of great promise to develop their ideas and pursue their research, just as Grigoriy Perelman was afforded such an opportunity by a fellowship at the Miller Institute in 1993-95.